7 Days of Halloween Posts-(Gilda Joyce-The Bones Of The Holy-A Book Review)

27 Oct

So sorry for disappearing yesterday guys:)

Halloween post number 6:)

When Gilda Joyce’s mother comes back from a trip to St. Augustine, Florida she starts to act very strange. So of course Gilda decides to snoop. And what does she find in her mother’s bags? AN ENGAGEMENT RING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Her widowed mother is getting married to someone Gilda hasn’t even met?! and in Florida! Even worse the man’s name is Eugene Pook! Gilda’s mother brings Gilda down to Florida to meet her fiancee, (her brother Stephen got to go later) Gilda is even more horrified he has a waxed. Curled. Mustache…but there are two good things about this whole mess…St.Augustine is known for its spirits and ghosts, and Mr.Pook owns an antique shop, filled with vintage clothing, one of Gilda’s favorite things. But Gilda’s getting suspicious of Mr.Pook, turns out he used to be engaged to a woman named Charlotte Furbo. She ran away to Europe with another man the night before the wedding who her parents hated and caused them to kick her out of their house. Also Charlotte happens to look a lot like Mrs. Joyce. Gilda and Darla, (Mr. Pook’s next door neighbor’s daughter) keep seeing a mysterious ghost-like woman in white with blood stains walking around Eugene’s house. Could Charlotte have been killed? Did Mr. Pook or Charlotte’s parents The Furbos do it? Why Does Mrs. Joyce keep having these weird trances everytime she goes into the kitchen? Can Gilda solve this mystery along with the help of her friends before her Mother get’s married, to some one who might be a murder?

My Thoughts: I LOVE the Gilda Joyce books! This one is one of my favorites too, except I always look ahead in mysteries…(ha, ha:) Eugene was just creepy, spoilers*(I mean what kind of person hides a corpse under their kitchen?). Darla got better by the end of the book, but I guess she was just scared in the beginning , and Debbie was my favorite character besides Gilda. I liked Stephen better in this book. Mrs. Joyce’s sudden trances were really freaky. Even though I loved this book it probably wasn’t a good idea to read it at night…anyways I give this book four out of five stars.

4 Responses to “7 Days of Halloween Posts-(Gilda Joyce-The Bones Of The Holy-A Book Review)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 8 Mystery Books That I Really Think You Should Investigate!-Books I think You Should Read, Volume 3 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - March 5, 2013

    […] Gilda Joyce, Psychic Investigator by Jennifer Allison (Read my reviews of the books here and here) […]

  2. Boo! 5 Spooky Stories I Really Think You Should Read! (The Spooky Adventures of Lulu, Day 5) | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - November 1, 2013

    […] Joyce, The Bones Of The Holy by Jennifer […]

  3. 10 Book Pairs I Really Think You Should Read / B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 18 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - July 31, 2014

    […] and the Molly Moon Series by Georgia Byng / Read my Gilda Joyce and Molly Moon reviews here, here, here, and […]

  4. 7 School-Themed Books I Really Think You Should Read / B.I.R.T.Y.S.R. Volume 19 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - October 7, 2014

    […] Gilda Joyce and the Ladies of the Lake by Jennifer Allison / Read my review of the third and fifth book in the series here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

