Falling In-A Book Review

4 Jan

Isabelle Bean has been hearing a mysterious buzzing sound, like, all day! When Isabelle falls into a door that leads her into a mystical land she is excited! Maybe, finally, she will find the place were she belongs! A place where kids don’t stay away from you as if you were a disease, a place where fairies and elves roam freely, a place where…um…that’s not what she finds. When she gets there Isabelle discovers that all the children are terrified of a witch that supposedly eats children…she is told to go to a camp to hide from the witch in the woods, but who wants to do that? Isabelle is going to meet this witch for herself, she always wanted to meet one! Oh yeah, apparently all of the children think that Isabelle is the witch! Why? They think she is the witch because of her boots, yep, just because of her boots…

My Thoughts: I’ve read Francis O’Roark Dowell’s books The Secret Language of Girls and The Kind of Friends We Used To Be and liked them, but they weren’t my favorites. Falling in was like I expected: a good book, but not own worthy. I always like fantasies so I knew this would be pretty good. The plot wasn’t boring and  it was an overall cute book, but I felt bored at points. Hen was my favorite character and I was really sad when I heard Grete’s story. During the story you learn about Hen’s life making her a well-developed character, but I didn’t feel the same about Isabelle. I would have liked to hear more about Isabelle’s life, but she was a refreshing character. Can I say that the cover of this book is really cool? I give it three and a half stars out of five.

One Response to “Falling In-A Book Review”

  1. Bella January 4, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

    Great post Lulu! :) I agree with you on Isabelle; I really wanted to know more about her. I love the book cover too!

Leave a Reply

