The Mysterious Benedict Society-A Book Review

18 Feb

(This book is really long and it would take me forever to summarize, so this summary is kindly taken from Amazon.)

“Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?”When this peculiar ad appears in the newspaper, dozens of children enroll to take a series of mysterious, mind-bending tests. (And you, dear reader, can test your wits right alongside them.) But in the end just four very special children will succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and resourceful children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules.

As our heroes face physical and mental trials beyond their wildest imaginations, they have no choice but to turn to each other for support. But with their newfound friendship at stake, will they be able to pass the most important test of all?

Welcome to the Mysterious Benedict Society.

My Thoughts: Last week I started to run out of Library books, so I borrowed this from my sister to read. It was awesome! The plot was fast paced, though it did get a little confusing. The characters in this book were supreme, (my favorite was Constance) and had lots of detail and interesting character traits. The whole story was very wacky, but entertaining and fun! Reynie was a really nice character and a strong leader, and it made me really happy when he got adopted:) Sticky was a very funny character, (especially when he just blurts out random knowledge!) Kate was very resourceful, and the most daring and courageous of them all, (it’s really happy when she gets her dad back:)), and Constance was just so stubborn, you kind of had to like her. (I love reading about her angry poems!) Mr. Benedict, Rhonda, Number 2, and Milligan were really nice and lovable supporting characters. Mr. Curtain was just so bad! His scheme, (though it made no sense) was completely evil! Oh yeah, S.Q. was probably the worst, but most awesome bad guy, all his mistakes were hilarious! The Mysterious Benedict Society was very suspenseful, fun, and well-written, I give it four and a half stars out of five.

8 Responses to “The Mysterious Benedict Society-A Book Review”

  1. Jess February 18, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

    OMG, I absolutely love this book! And the rest of the series! :D They need to make movies out of them!

    • Lulu February 18, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Hi Jess!
      I know! This one was so awesome, and I can’t wait to read the others! You’re so right, they do need to make movies out of them!
      Lulu:)
      P.S. I added you to my blogroll!

  2. Sophie February 18, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

    I just got enrolled for dear edwin a! good review!
    -sophie

    • Lulu February 20, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

      Me too! I can’t wait to start rehearsals!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Mysterious Benedict Society, and the Prisoner’s Dilemma-A Book Review | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - February 28, 2013

    […] (To read my review of the first book click here.) […]

  2. 7 Long Books/Series to Fill Your Summer With That I Really Think You Should Read! | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - June 9, 2013

    […] The Mysterious Benedict Society Series by Trenton Lee Stewart […]

  3. Red, White, and Blue Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 17 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - July 4, 2014

    […] Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart / Read my review of the first book here and the third book […]

  4. 10 Book Pairs I Really Think You Should Read / B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 18 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - July 31, 2014

    […] The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart / Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein / Read my review here. […]

Leave a Reply

