Emily Windsnap and The Land of The Midnight Sun-A Book Review!

20 Feb

So today I will be writing a review of Emily Windsnap and the Land of The Midnight Sun by Liz Kessler, but first I have a contest…

Mimi Adventure Contest!!!!

Okay! So Mimi is looking for ideas for her next adventure! Pitch your idea in a comment, and Mimi and I will choose our favorite Friday, March 1st, and post the winner the next day! I will then make the photo story, and the winner will get to interview Mimi in a comment. Your idea can be silly, adventurous, or what ever you want.* Please make sure you enter by Thursday, February 28th! Mimi can’t wait to see all your ideas, and get to be interviewed! (I will write the interview in a post.)

*Please remember that I must be able to make the photo story with my items, (no crazy skydiving above the Eiffel Tower!) 

Anyways, onto my review….

Summary: Emily Windsnap is a semi-mermaid, which means that when she goes into water she becomes a mermaid, and when she’s on land she’s a human. So one day, she and her friend Aaron(who’s a semi-merman) were just swimming around when they were captured in fish nets…and were brought to the palace of Neptune, King of the Sea. Neptune has been having vivid nightmares causing dangerous storms, but Neptune is sure that they aren’t just nightmares, they’re memories, but he can’t remember anything about them. He is sure they are a threat so he wants Emily and Aaron to go to the Land of the Midnight Sun, a land where the sun never sets, yet it is bitterly cold. There he hopes they can find and defeat the threat. But they would never imagine they would find Neptune’s evil twin brother Njord…Can Emily and Aaron defeat him along with the help of their friends Shona and Millie?

My Thoughts: I really like Liz Kessler’s books, and this one was just awesome as her other ones! It had a good plot, but was confusing at points. There was very good details and description. I wish there was more of Shona in this book, but she was still a really good supporting character. Archie was really mean, and I don’t get how Millie trusted him, but he was really well-developed. His actions were so sneaky, but well written! The narwhal was so nice, and it made me so sad when Emily forgot about him:( He was so nice, and I want to know what happened to him! Emily and Aaron are so cute together! You feel bad for both of them when they broke up, but it’s really sweet when they make up:) Njord was pure evil! His evil scheme was just so…evil! I totally understand why Neptune froze him! Neptune was softer in this book, but I wish his character was developed a little more. Mr. Beeston was really clueless, but he acted like he was more important than everyone, so he was pretty funny. (And, could you imagine having to go to the really cold island? I would seriously never survive!) I definitely hoping for a sixth book, but for now I will await the release of Liz Kessler’s next book North Of Nowhere! I also just wanted to say how cool all the Emily Windsnap covers are! The sparkle and shimmer, and have lots of texture. The art work through out the book is simply amazing, and I give this book four out of five stars!

6 Responses to “Emily Windsnap and The Land of The Midnight Sun-A Book Review!”

  1. The Soph Micester February 20, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    How about . . .
    Mimi in the chocolate factory
    or . . .
    Mimi goes to superhero camp.

  2. The Soph Micester February 20, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

    Good review by the way!

    • Lulu February 20, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

      Thanks! I finished the cover for your contest, so I’ll most likely post the picture tomorrow:)

  3. The Soph Micester February 21, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Okey Dokey then!

  4. meganlikespie February 24, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    Mimi the Magician or
    Mimi at School!

Leave a Reply

