The Voyage of Lucy P. Simmons-A Book Review

18 Apr

The Voyage of Lucy P. Simmons by Barbara Mariconda 

Summary: Ever since Lucy P. Simmons’s parents drowned at sea during a terrible storm, her life has been a mess. Her rightful guardian and owner of the estate, her Aunt Prudence, is somewhere around the world having a thrilling adventure leaving no clues behind about her travels. This leaves Lucy (and all of her mother and father’s money) in the care of her greedy Aunt Margaret and Uncle Victor. Lucy is stuck living with her cruel relatives with only her nanny, Addie and pet, Mr. Pugsley to comfort her. Soon though, Lucy is swept up into a world of magic, mystery, and lots of secrets. She finds her self spying on the whimsical woman, Marni, who bears a striking resemblance to the sea siren in her father’s old painting, and she meets a group of runaways, who fate is mysteriously intertwined with hers. Can Lucy find her Aunt Prudence, and discover the secrets behind the magic that seems to follow her before her before evil Aunt and Uncle try to ruin everything?

My Thoughts: After being strongly recommended, I got this book from the library, and finally got to finish it on Tuesday. It is so AWESOME! It has great writing, entertaining characters, whimsical concepts, plus a cool cover:) The whole book is so good, I don’t know what to start with, but I guess I’ll begin with the characters. First of all, Lucy was a very memorable! It must have been really sad when her parents drowned at sea, but she was still very interesting to read about, and I thought she didn’t have many flaws in her development. Her aunt and uncle were so mean to her! But, their characters were still very distinctive. I thought the whole mysterious, magical mist was very cool, and I wanted to learn more about it. Addie did give Lucy some comfort, (and so did her puppy!), but I was still glad when she was able to get away. When she went to stay with Marni, I was a bit worried, because of all the mysteries and secrets going on that involved her. Soon, though I saw how Marni was caring and nice! I thought it was really sweet of her to help Lucy and the other kids. Speaking of the other kids, Annie, Walter, and George were pretty good characters. Their past was very intriguing, and I wanted to know more. I also wanted to know what happened to Lucy, Marni, and the others in the end of the book, and if Lucy found her aunt Pru, but it did leave you in suspense.

The writing is just so good in this book! It has great concepts, and everything seems to flow easily. It dragged slightly in some parts, but it wasn’t a big problem. The beginning was solid, and the middle was entertaining, but I thought the ending was sort of confusing because there was so much going on. Overall, it was a great book, and I give this book four and a half stars out of five.

4 Responses to “The Voyage of Lucy P. Simmons-A Book Review”

  1. Sophie4503 April 18, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    Nice Review ! Check out my new posts.
    http://sophie4503.wordpress.com/
    Sophie

  2. Sophie4503 April 18, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    Please comment if you can on the review to.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Historical Fiction Books I Really Think You Should Read (B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 12) | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - December 27, 2013

    […] The Voyage of Lucy P. Simmons by Barbara Mariconda (Read my review here.) […]

  2. 10 Book Pairs I Really Think You Should Read / B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 18 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - July 31, 2014

    […] Kat Incorrigible (Titled A Most Improper Magick in the UK) by Stephanie Burgis / Read my reviews here and […]

Leave a Reply

