Wednesdays In the Tower-A Book Review

14 May

To read my book review of the first story in this series (which will probably make this make more sense!), click here.

Hey:) Guess what???!!!! I’m finally doing a book review of the sequel to one of my favorite books ever! Enjoy…

Wednesdays in the Castle by Jessica Day George 

What in the world are you supposed to do when the Castle you live in is constantly taking away or adding rooms, hallways, or towers and seems to have it’s own mind?

When Princess Celie finds a new tower with a mysterious giant egg in it, she has no idea what to expect! Soon she’s caring for a pet griffin that she has to keep secret, also she has to figure out why the Castle has been acting so weird lately, and she has to deal with a mysterious visiting wizard, who doesn’t want Celie to learn anything about the Castle’s history! Can Celie keep on hiding her new pet, and try to save the castle?

My Thoughts: I’ve been waiting to read this for what feels like forever, so you can imagine my excitement when I ripped open a package on Friday, and found this! After diving into the story of Celie and her beloved Castle, I was immediately sucked in to the world of griffins, magic, and creepy old wizards who try to take away your favorite character’s stuff! (Sorry, I’m getting ahead of myself…)  Anyways, my point is that I LOVED this book! (Which is to be expected, since Jessica Day George is one of my favorite authors, and I also LOVED Tuesdays at the Castle, but…) Moving on, the writing was superb as always; full of whimsical adventures and characters, plus original and creative ideas. The beginning starts off with a bang, goes into an eventful, intriguing, (sometimes complicated middle) and finishes with a great, yet torturing ending! Speaking of the ending, that cliff hanger is so, so, so…umm…cliff hanger-like! Now, the next book in this series better be ready, or I think I’ll die of suspense! Don’t worry, I’m joking, but I still just want to read the next book so badly!!!! (Cue dramatic music:))

Anyways, before I continue to ramble on about how much I want (no, need!) Jessica Day George to write her next book, I’ll talk about the characters. Celie was such a memorable one in the first story, so I was really looking forward to reading about her again this time, and she didn’t disappoint at all! She was still her adventurous, caring, silly self, but for some reason that I can’t quite put my finger on she was even more entertaining. She was so sweet with Rufus, and had quick reflexes when she went to investigate the Castle “Eye.” I also thought that it was a good choice to show Bran’s character more in this book because you didn’t get to see his personality in the last story, though I did miss some of the other characters, like Rolf, Lilah, and Pogue because they were more interesting and important in the last book, but weren’t featured very much this time.

Continuing with my thoughts about the characters, Wizard Arkwright was my least favorite one of all. He was so mysterious, evil, and clever, but I still can’t wait to see what happens with the rest of his story. I also can’t wait to see what else happens with Rufus and the other griffins. Overall, I give this book five stars out of five for being a wonderful fantasy story, that leaves you in suspense!

2 Responses to “Wednesdays In the Tower-A Book Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Books Coming Out This Year That I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 13 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - January 20, 2014

    […] Thursdays With The Crown by Jessica Day George (Cover Not Yet Released) / Release Date – September 4 / To read my reviews of the other books in the series, click here and here. […]

  2. Lulu’s Love List of Ultimate Awesomeness! | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - March 31, 2014

    […] is one of my favorite authors, and after the suspenseful cliffhanger in the end of her last book, Wednesdays In The Tower, I’ve been eagerly waiting to find out what will happen to Princess Celie and my other […]

Leave a Reply

