I So Don’t Do Spooky-A Book Review

26 Jun

I So Don’t Do Spooky by Barrie Summy

Summary: Sherry Baldwin is back with another mystery! This time she learns that her stepmother has a stalker! Sherry must find out who it is, why they’re doing it, and put a stop to it before something really bad happens. Unfortunately, Sherry’s ghost mother is too busy at the ghostlympics to help her with the mystery. Luckily though, Sherry has her best friend Junie by her side, no matter how many crazy things she has to do to crack the case, (which includes going undercover in a rival school’s robotic’s club, and going ghost hunting with a slightly crazy spirit-obsessed teenager and Junie’s boy-crazy cousin!) Can Sherry figure out what’s going on before it’s too late?

My Thoughts: I love mysteries, and I love Barrie Summy’s stories, so I was super excited when I found the last book in the I so don’t do… series that I hadn’t read yet at the library! This was such a good story with great writing, an entertaining plot, and a fun main character, although it’s one flaw was that some of the supporting characters weren’t as interesting or distinctive as they were in the other books in the series. To start, I’ll talk about Sherry because she was such a memorable character. She was smart, likable, funny, and kept you intrigued throughout the whole book. I’m sort of sad now that I’ve finished the series because I won’t get to read from her point of view for now:( Anyways, Junie and Josh were featured in this book more than I felt they were in the others, so that was a good choice because I liked getting to read about them. Junie was her usual clever self, and Josh was really nice, and so they were some of the better supporting characters in the story. Now, the Donner robotics club members had to be some of the funniest people in the book. Not because of their individual characters, but because of how intense and obsessed they were about robotics altogether. (I mean really, the drove Sherry out to a desert and left her there just because she went undercover in their group!) Continuing, Zane was sort of the same, just a lot more crazy! Sam and Paula were really sweet and caring, (even when one happened to have a stalker!) and…um…yeah. Lastly, Sherry’s ghost mom and grandfather weren’t there as often in this book, so I don’t really know how to describe them, but overall this was a solid mystery that I really recommend, and give four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

