The School For Good and Evil and Pi in the Sky-2 Reviews in One

3 Jul

Sorry for not posting recently, but today I have an extra awesome post with two reviews of these new books which I LOVED! So….

The School For Good and EvilThe School For Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

Summary: In the small town of Gavaldon, which is completely surrounded by woods, a strange thing takes place every four years. Two children from the village, one good and one evil are taken by a mysterious shadow in the night are taken into the forest, and aren’t seen again until they show up in the town children’s storybooks as either the hero or villain. The children are taken to the School for Good and Evil. When other children are terrified of being taken, Sophie has longed for it her whole life. She longed to be a princess, and so she’s sure she’ll be taken for the Good School and her best friend Agatha, who lives in a graveyard and wears shapeless black dresses and doesn’t believe in any of this fairy tale nonsense will be taken for the School of Evil. Soon, Sophie’s wishes come true, and the two girls are taken, but instead of being placed into the elegant good school, Sophie finds herself thrown into the darkness of the evil one, while Agatha gets to live Sophie’s dream of becoming a fairy tale heroine…

My Thoughts: I think I finally found a book that is as good as any of the E.D. Baker and Jessica Day George stories, (and we all know how highly I rank those on my Super Awesome Stuff list!) I mean really, it. is. that. good. I even read it, (all 488 pages) in only 2 days! And if you need even more proof about how amazing the book is, I’m going to probably read it another 2 or 3 times before the summer is over:) Oh! I have one more awesome thing about this book to tell you before I start to talk about the character and writing, etc. It’s apparently going to be made into a movie, (which shows how awesome this book is because it only came out on May 14!) and it’s going to be a trilogy!!!!!!! Okay, I think I finally got all my super happy chatter out-of-the-way so I’ll go on with my usual book review, umm…what do you call that?…we’ll just say order. Alright, the writing in this book makes you feel like your there with the characters and get sucked into the story after you read the first page. There’s lots of description and the plot is a very fun take on classic fairy tales, plus there’s so much suspense and surprises (can you believe that ending? I must know what happens!!!!) that keep you wanting to read more. Although the book can be very dramatic and full of excitement there’s still lots of funny moments. The characters in this book were very distinctive and interesting. Sophie was very funny, (and a little crazy!) but she was still very unlikable but for some weird reason I wanted to keep reading about her. I’m glad she stopped being a crazy, evil,   person in the end, and it was so unexpected when she…well….I won’t spoil the end for you. Anyways, Agatha was much more likable and turned out to be the much nicer one, (she gave Sophie so many second chances) and she was a very intriguing character till the very end of the story. Tedros wasn’t my favorite character, but he wasn’t bad. I just think that he wasn’t very good at making his decisions, but at the end like the other characters he saw how he’d been wrong. The supporting characters all had different personalities, and brought lots of humor to the book. Beatrix and the other Good School students were very funny because of how obsessed they were with their looks and other silly things. Dot was very fun, and sweet, and it makes you feel really bad for her when she was kicked out of her room:( Overall, this was a super awesome book that I give five out of five stars!

Pi in the Sky by Wendy Mass

Summary: In what we just think is dark matter, there lives a whole community of immortals called The Realms, where Joss is the seventh son of the Supreme Overlord of the Universe. Now this may sound fun and exciting, but it’s not, because all Joss gets to do is deliver pies. Now, Joss’s life seems pretty boring, all he does is go to school, deliver pies, and hang out with his best friend Kal, until the day someone on Earth sees the Realms in a telescope. Now the entire solar system has been pulled out of time, with Kal’s parents studying on Earth. So now Kal, and his parents have simply disappeared, and in their place comes a strange girl named Annika, who happens to be the last human there is. Along with her help, Joss must recreate the whole solar system in order to get Kal ad his parents back and Annika and the rest of the humans back on Earth.

My Thoughts: I enjoy all of Wendy Mass’s books and have been waiting to read this one ever since I saw the cool cover. The plot of the story is very interesting, and I thought that the fact that the author had the story take place inside of dark matter, and how she had quotes at the beginning of each chapter made it even better. The great writing is backed up with a fun plot and science facts, plus likable characters. Joss was a refreshing main character, and he was very believable, (well as much as a fictional immortal being can be) and likable. He was very entertaining, and really helped the story move along. Annika was so bold and funny. I don’t really know what else to say about her, except that she was my favorite character in the book. I liked to read about Joss’s brothers’ different jobs, and how each brother was featured at one point in the story. Kal wasn’t a very memorable character, (most likely because he was absent for a lot of the book,) but he still caused a lot of confusing things to happen though. Overall, this book was a great read that I also give five out of five stars.

Have you read any interesting books lately?

Lulu

8 Responses to “The School For Good and Evil and Pi in the Sky-2 Reviews in One”

  1. Sophie July 3, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    That Sophie Sounds like an awesome person! I just Love the name! LOL XD

    • Lulu July 3, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

      I knew you would! You should read the book!
      Lulu

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Sweet Stories That I Really Think You Should Read! (B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 8) | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - August 7, 2013

    […]  Pi in the Sky By Wendy Mass […]

  2. 5 Books I’m So Thankful For That I Really Think You Should Read (B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 11) | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - November 28, 2013

    […] The School For Good And Evil by Soman Chainani […]

  3. 10 Books Coming Out This Year That I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 13 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - January 20, 2014

    […] A World Without Princes by Soman Chainani / Release Date-April 15/ To read my review of the first book in this series, click here. […]

  4. Lulu’s Love List of Ultimate Awesomeness! | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - March 31, 2014

    […] about my School For Good and Evil obsession so many times before, (you can read more about it here, here, and here) but the book trailer for the sequel, A World Without Princes, was recently […]

  5. The Return Of The Fantasy Books-Books I Really Think You Should Read / Volume 16 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - May 19, 2014

    […] The School For Good and Evil Trilogy by Soman Chainani / Read my review of the first book here. […]

  6. 7 School-Themed Books I Really Think You Should Read / B.I.R.T.Y.S.R. Volume 19 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - October 7, 2014

    […] The School For Good and Evil by Soman Chainani / Read my review here. […]

Leave a Reply

