Triple Review: The Heroes Of Olympus Series

19 Sep

Doesn’t it make you so sad when you finish a series, and then you have to wait for the next book to come out? Luckily, the next book in The Heroes Of Olympus series comes out next month…but it still seems soooooooooo far away, (I NEED to know what happens next! It was such a suspenseful ending!) For now though, I wrote up three mini reviews of the other books…

The Lost HeroThe Lost Hero By Rick Riordan

Summary: When Jason wakes up, not knowing who or where he is, he never could have expected that he is a demigod…or that Piper and Leo, the strange kids that claim to be his friends are too. The three find themselves at the mysterious Camp-Half Blood, where secrets are being hid. Not only is the Camp’s star and leader, Percy Jackson missing, Piper’s movie star dad has been captured, and Leo keeps seeing sightings of his old baby-sitter…who tried to kill him. Even weirder, Jason can’t help shaking off the feeling that he doesn’t belong at the camp. Together, the trio must embark on a dangerous journey to stop an army of evil giants from taking over: But can they stop Gaea, the powerful spirit that controls the whole earth?

My Thoughts: Okay, when I finished the Percy Jackson and The Olympians series, I was so sad because I had no more books:( But, then, I got the Heroes Of Olympus series, and I was oh so happy again! Told by three different narrators, the author did a wonderful job of keeping the story interesting and making sense while switching between characters. With suspense and adventure, The Lost Hero kept my eyes glued to the page.

Even with the new storyline, this series still had some of my favorite characters from the first Percy Jackson books, so it was fun to read about what happened after the big evil battle thingie (Long story…but I’m not going to spoil it for you, and so you just have to go and read The Last Olympian yourself!) Anyways, we were also introduced to some new characters in this book, like Piper, the sweet but powerful daughter of Aphrodite, Leo the funny and crafty son of…a Greek god I don’t know how to spell’s name, Drew the mean and controlling Aphrodite cabin counselor, and Jason the brave and very confused son of Zeus, just to name a few. Oh, and I can’t forget Festus (which means happy in Latin!) the big metal dragon! He doesn’t do anything besides helping them travel, and then breaking down (so sad!) and becoming the head of a ship, but I just had to include him! Alright, now along with these new characters, there were some missing ones as well…named Percy Jackson. You’re introduced to his disappearance in the beginning of the book, so for about 512 pages, you’re still wondering where he is-which takes a lot of torturing suspense by the way. But, anyways, before I get started on that, I should probably finish this review… This was super awesome book that I give four and a half stars out of five! Yay!

The Son of NeptuneThe Son Of Neptune by Rick Riordan

Summary: Percy Jackson’s memory is a blur. All he remembers after being unconscious for almost eight months is one person-Annabeth. When he arrives at the Roman Demigod Camp Jupiter, he witnesses an unnatural event-the people who should be dead…aren’t dying. Soon, Percy is whisked away on a quest to find the cause of these mysterious occurrences with two fellow campers, Hazel and Frank, who are definitely hiding something…maybe the fact that Hazel was never supposed to be living in this century…or that Frank’s whole life could burn out at any time?

My Thoughts: I was so excited to read this book when I finished the ending of The Lost Hero, (How could I not want to know where Percy went? I do not do well with suspense…) fortunately, I had all three books in a big stack in my room, so I got to find out what happened immediately, (How did some people wait a whole year for it?!) Anyways, on with my review…

The Son Of Neptune is an entertaining book that keeps you wanting to know what will happen next, although I did find it a bit slow at parts, but there weren’t any other real complaints. The overall plot was interesting to read about, and helped pull the whole story going on (in all three books) together. I also liked learning more about Hazel and Frank, and their pasts because they added such detail to the characters.

Speaking of the characters, we finally got to find out what happened to Percy, and find out more about the Roman camp, and their campers, like Reyna, the fierce but lonely leader of the Roman demigods. Continuing, the three narrators in this book were Hazel, Frank, and Percy, which besides that they’re the main characters, was really helpful since it allowed me to read their thoughts on each of the events. There weren’t any really memorable evil people or side characters (although it was kind of cool to see what was happening back at Camp Half-Blood in Percy’s visions) but it was still a pretty good book. I give it four out of five stars!

The Mark of Athena The Mark Of Athena by Rick Riordan 

As Piper, Jason, Annabeth, Leo, Percy, Hazel, and Frank travel to the Ancient lands on the Argo II, Gaea and her army of giants are rising faster than should be possible. The seven demigods must save Hazel’s mysterious brother Nico, defeat two over-the-top giants, and Annabeth by herself must follow the Mark Of Athena through Ancient Rome in order to find the most famous Greek Statue there ever was, and to avenge her mother…which meets meeting up with her worst enemy, who will stop at nothing to destroy her. Can the demigods complete their quest before Rome itself is destroyed?

My Thoughts: Before I even get started with my review, I have to get all my SPOILERS out-of-the-way. First of all…how about that ending? Sending my two favorite main characters straight down into a dark and creepy pit with a ton of evil monsters in it…and making us wait till the next book to find out what happens? So not cool…

Alright, now I can continue on with my review: The Mark Of Athena is an amazing book, with entertaining narrators, a fast-paced plot, and the perfect blend of humor, suspense, magic, and action-I never wanted to put it down the whole time I was reading! The only problem I had with the timing of the whole book was that I felt some of the events went by so quickly, and I wanted to find out more.

The characters and narrators in this book were likable (or dislikable, if you’re talking about a villain, I guess…although a lot of the evil people were sort of funny;)) Anyways, the four narrators for this book were Annabeth, Percy, Leo, and Piper, and I thought that the author did a nice job of keeping their personalities, while still making sure that the story progressed. I also liked that each one of them had distinctive traits, such as Annabeth is smart and quick, but Percy is loyal and brave. The one thing I’d change is that all of the narrators were from Camp Half-Blood, and so we didn’t get to read about the Roman characters’ points of view.

Oh, and best evil people/monsters in this book were probably those performing giants, (Doing ballet when you attack someone..not a very good idea!) Although, Arachne with her gullibleness (is that a word?), and those weird crazy ghosts in that weird crazy ghost place (so specific, aren’t I?) were pretty good too. Overall, I give this book five out of five stars.

Lulu:)

One Response to “Triple Review: The Heroes Of Olympus Series”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The House of Hades-A Book Review | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - October 27, 2013

    […] Hi! So sorry I haven’t posted in a while, but don’t worry! I have lots of fun posts planned for the next few days, starting with this review of The House Of Hades book. (To read my reviews of the other three books in the series, click here.) […]

Leave a Reply

