Once Upon A Marigold-A Book Review

8 Oct

Hi!

Since tomorrow is my birthday, I’m going to try to get in as many posts as I can this week, but I may disappear for a bit. For now though, I have a quick book review of the first story in a wonderful trilogy I read over the weekend…

Once upon A MarigoldOnce Upon A Marigold By Jean Ferris

Summary: Christian is in love. Sure he’s never met Princess Marigold…or talked to her…or talked to anyone really. Living in a cave with only a troll, two dogs, and the occasional wandering fairy who lost their way in the forest for company can do that to a person…And that is why Christian finally decides to go into the real world, and get a job in the castle where he might actually make eye-contact with Princess Marigold.

For Marigold, things aren’t looking to good. Not only is her mother, the queen, trying to marry her off to every prince that comes along, she also just found out that if she doesn’t marry a suitor and move off to a faraway castle…her mother has plans to get rid of her…as in permanently. Oh, and I did I mention that she has the power to tell what other people are thinking when they touch her? It’s not very helpful when everyone refuses to go near you.

Join Marigold and Christian as they go on an exciting adventure complete with evil plots, comedy, a prison break, magic, and of course a bit of romance…

My Thoughts: Over the summer when I went to the Brown Bookstore, I saw the newest book in the Marigold trilogy (Which is Thrice Upon A Marigold in case you were wondering) and I wanted to learn more about the series so I got Once Upon A Marigold at my local library, and I have to say that it was amazing! I was hooked after reading the first page, and was able to finish it in just two days! (It was that good!) There weren’t any major flaws in the book, although I did think the ending was a bit rushed and confusing, but other then that there was plenty of detail, great characters, and an interesting setting.

The two main characters of the book, Christian and Marigold were pretty likable, and had similar traits (like they were both brave and intelligent) but they did have distinctive personalities, (Christian was a bit more bold and Marigold was really sweet.) Not only that, they were both pretty funny, and they were really cute as a couple:) The supporting characters were really what helped pull the whole story together though. Swithbert was such a nice king, and it makes you so happy when he finally takes control and becomes a better ruler, unlike the evil Queen Olympia, who as you can probably guess was very evil. (I mean, who fires someone just because they don’t like their outfit?) Anyways, the other characters like Ed and Magnus were sometimes a bit clueless, but were still really nice and you can’t help but end up liking them.

Overall, Once Upon A Marigold was a great book that I give four and half stars out of five.

Lulu:)

3 Responses to “Once Upon A Marigold-A Book Review”

  1. Abby W. October 9, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    Great book and review!

  2. Jessica October 9, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    I LOVE this book! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Return Of The Fantasy Books-Books I Really Think You Should Read / Volume 16 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - May 19, 2014

    […] The Once Upon A Marigold Trilogy by Jean Ferris / Read my review of the first book here. […]

Leave a Reply

