Boo! 5 Spooky Stories I Really Think You Should Read! (The Spooky Adventures of Lulu, Day 5)

1 Nov

Hi!

Oh no! Today is the last day of The Spooky Adventures of Lulu! No worries though, because I have a great post for you to celebrate…after all, today is Halloween!

Slide1Yep! To finish off my Halloween series of posts, I have a B.I.R.T.Y.S.R (Books I Really Think You Should Read!) post. This month’s theme is spooky stories-although these stories aren’t very spooky since I am not a scary type of person. Instead these all have either a Halloween or ghost/vampire theme…

Gilda Joyce, The Bones Of The Holy by Jennifer Allison

Who doesn’t love a good mystery? In this funny and suspenseful book, ‘psychic investigator,’ Gilda Joyce goes to New Orleans for her mother’s wedding, but not everything is how it seems. Join Gilda as she investigates the sightings of a mysterious ghost on Halloween night…It’s perfect for people who love mysteries, and with a fun main character, it’s a great read for anyone!

The My Sister the Vampire series by Sierra Mercer

Although this series can be a little silly at points, it’s still wonderfully written, and I love reading about all the characters! In this story, teenage vampire Ivy meets an energetic, bubbly human named Olivia.   You would never think that they had anything in common until they discover that they’re twins! I’m super far behind in the series, but it’s still lots of fun to read about these sisters’ adventures.

Mercy WatsonMercy Watson, A Princess in Disguise by Kate DiCamillo and Chris Van Dusen

First of all, this book has a pig in it, second of all, that pig is dressed up as a princess and has an extremely large craving for toast…can you really find anything to top that? In this funny beginner chapter book, the talented pig Mercy Watson finds herself trick-or-treating…but what happens when she finds out there’s no toast?!

The Suddenly Supernatural series by Elizabeth Cody Kimmel

Even though this isn’t really a Halloween story, it’s mystery and ghost element works just as well! In the book shown above, teen medium Kat Roberts and her best friend Jac venture into an old house on her street, and Kat can sense the spirits floating around her-and not all of them are that friendly. This is a pretty easy series that is written with suspense, detail, and lots of entertainment!

Boxcar Children The Boxcar Children: The Pumpkin Head Mystery created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Since I put the Boxcar Children books on my list last month, I was debating whether or not to put this mystery on this month’s post, but I just couldn’t help myself! This was probably one of my favorite mysteries in the series, and although I haven’t read it in a while, I still definitely recommend it!

What Halloween-themed books do you like?
Lulu :)

Leave a Reply

