Capture The Flag-A Book Review

16 Nov

Hi!

Today I have a book review of an awesome book called Capture The Flag-which is a great read for anyone who loves fun mysteries…

Capture The Flag by Kate Messner

Summary: Anna, José, and Henry met at a crowded airport because a massive snowstorm caused all of their flights to be canceled, but they never expected that they would be caught up in a fast-paced mystery involving a national treasure together…or that they all had relatives part of a super secret society in charge of saving famous paintings and artifacts. When the famous Star-Spangled banner gets stolen, reporter-in-trainer Anna is sure that the flag is somewhere in the airport, and that it’s her job to find it! She recruits Henry and José to help her track down the culprit, but can the three solve the case before the flag flies off when the planes are ready to leave?

My Thoughts: I got the sequel to this book before I read this one, but stopped half way through when I found out that this was actually the first book. I forgot about it for a little, but then I remembered and picked this book up at the library last week, and I have to say that I’m really glad I did. It has an exciting plot, fun characters, great detail, an awesome cover, and an interesting setting!

The whole plot of this book is just really interesting to read about. Three kids get stuck at an airport and have to find a  national treasure all by themselves, and it has a unique setting to make it even more entertaining! (I don’t remember reading any other books that take place almost entirely in an airport,) I also liked reading about the Silver Jaguar Society, and hope that in the next book we find out more about it, since in this story the details of the society were mostly kept a secret. The only problem I really had with the plot is that towards the end, things got a little confusing, and it was hard to keep track of all the events going on.

The three main characters were actually all pretty fun to read about, and I thought that the author did a great job of writing from their point of views, and giving them distinctive personalities. Anna was adventurous and enthusiastic, José was smart and caring, and Henry was funny and kind. Not only that, but the three main characters all worked really well together, which made them likable and helped the story progress more easily. The supporting characters were also very well -developed and had lots of detail. Senator Snickerbottom for example, was funny, a bit creepy, and a little weird, but it still shocked you at the end when you find out the secret. (And, I’m not going to tell you what the secret is! You’ll just have to read this super amazing book yourself:)) Another good supporting character was Sinan, an eight-year-old boy who was traveling with his musician parents, (and their crazy pet poodle, who happens to be extremely awesome.) I thought that Sinan had great character traits, and I do hope that he comes back sometime in a future book! Anyways, this book is wonderful, and I give it four and a half stars out of five.

Lulu:)

2 Responses to “Capture The Flag-A Book Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Books Coming Out This Year That I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 13 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - January 20, 2014

    […] Manhunt by Kate Messner / Release Date- June 25 / Read my review of the first book in the series here. […]

  2. Red, White, and Blue Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 17 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - July 4, 2014

    […] Capture the Flag by Kate Messener […]

Leave a Reply

