Cat O’Nine Tails-A Book Review

5 Jan

Hi!

To read my reviews of the first three books in the Cat Royal series, click here, here, and here

Cat O’Nine Tails by Julia Golding

Summary: Adventurous orphan Cat Royal has been spending the past few months with her friend Frank’s noble family, and she’s bored out of her mind. Soon though, she must join the crew of the Royal Navy ship, Courageous, on an adventure to America where she’ll discover a plot to get rid of Frank, have to disguise herself yet again, and meet the native people. Can Cat save her friends…and herself before it’s too late?

My Thoughts: (This includes some spoilers, so read at your own risk!) By now I’ll be surprised if you don’t know about my Cat Royal book obsession…if you don’t, I am extremely obsessed. It was so interesting to read about Cat’s adventures at sea and in America because it was different than the usual setting of London. There was so much adventure and suspense throughout the story that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. The writing was so well done, full of details and development, that makes it so hard to put the book down!

In every one of Cat Royal reviews, I’ve said how much I like Cat as a main character because of her wit, boldness, fun personality, and tendency to get into trouble, but all of her great qualities were really highlighted in this book because of all the situations Cat had to use her smarts to fix/get out of. I also found it really interesting how she changed from the time she was with her friends on the ship to the time when she was with the Wind Clan. Speaking of the Wind Clan, Kanawha was nice and funny, and it made me so happy when she befriended Cat, plus she was brave and resourceful. It was really entertaining to read about Cat’s experiences there too, since she was so out of her element, but since she still tried, it ended up being pretty funny:) Anyways, even though Cat was in lots of danger on the Courageous, luckily she had her friends Pedro, Frank, and Syd there too. Pedro was a good friend to Cat as always, but I wish he was featured a little more like he was in the previous stories because he’s always such a good character. Frank changed a lot over the story from being all fancy at the ball in Bath to being stuck on the ship where he had to learn to be more adventurous and independent. In the beginning of the book, I was so worried for Syd because he had disappeared when he was supposed to come back, and Cat, Frank, and Pedro couldn’t find any trace of him for a while until Mr. Dixon tricked them. They then found him stuck on the ship, without any of his money from touring across the country with his awful manager, so I hope that he’s able to get it back later in the series. Later on the ship, there’s this really cute moment with Syd and Cat that made me get all excited and jump up and down:)!! Moving on, Mr. Dixon tricking them was so unexpected! I couldn’t believe what he had done to his cousin Frank, but at least Cat was able to get her revenge…on horseback…in the middle of an elegant party…(it will make much more sense if you read the book.) Finally, Billy showed up yet again, this time at a ball Cat was attending with Frank…and then he kissed her!!!!! That totally caught me by surprise, and I really hope that more will be explained in the next book.

Overall Cat O’Nine Tails was super awesomely amazing, and I give it five out of five stars!

Lulu:)

One Response to “Cat O’Nine Tails-A Book Review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Red, White, and Blue Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 17 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - July 4, 2014

    […] Cat Among The Pigeons by Julia Golding / Read my reviews of the first four books in the series here, here, here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

