The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile-A Book Review

12 Feb

Hi!

The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile by Bianca Turetsky

Summary: When 12-year old vintage fashionista, Louise Lambert tries on a brilliant lavender grecian-style dress, she finds herself transported back to Ancient Egypt, or so she thinks…it turns out that Louisa is on the set of the 1963 movie, Cleopatra, working as a costume designer’s assistant. She can’t wait to see some of her favorite stars and the amazing costumes and props, but when Louise puts on a beautiful pearl necklace, she ends up in Egypt thousand of years ago, this time for real! Can Louise find a way to avoid poisonous snakes and deadly plots, navigate the fascinating castle, and get home before she’s discovered as a fake?

My Thoughts: I just love the Time Traveling Fashionista series so much! The other two books, where Louise finds herself on board the Titanic and in Marie Antoinette’s palace were simply amazing, and this one was no exception! The writing is simply extraordinary, there are gorgeous full color drawings scattered throughout the pages, and you get to learn about the different time periods Louise travels too, (and their fashions! Those drawings are just gorgeous!)

In book three, after going to the mysterious Traveling Fashionista Sale, Louise first travels back to the set of the movie, Cleopatra, in the body of the costume designer’s assistant Joan. While she’s there, she meets one of her favorite actresses, Elizabeth Taylor, and gets to experience what it felt like to work on the set of one of the most expensive movies ever made. I really enjoyed reading about Louise’s time there because there was so much going on, but author Bianca Turetsky did a really good job of not making it too confusing for the reader, but still capturing the fast-paced mood of the setting. Unfortunately, Louise only spent a couple of chapters there, so the reader isn’t really able to get to know any of the characters, but I was interested in the costume designer, Irene Sharaff. I would have preferred for Louise to have spent much more time on the movie set because it just felt rushed and too short.

And even though I would have preferred her to have spent more time in the costume department, reading about Louise’s adventures in Cleopatra’s time was really intriguing. When she was back on the movie set, she tried on a pearl necklace that looked like another prop, but really belonged to the famous Egyptian queen, Cleopatra, and brought Louise back to Ancient Egypt as one of her hand maids. The necklace is then taken away, leaving Louise with no way to get back home, which although creates problems for the main character, it allowed me enough time to get lost in the ancient setting and get to know the different characters. I was super interested in the confident and clever Cleopatra because so little is known about her. Bianca Turetsky did a wonderful job of showing Cleopatra as a strong, super cool, and smart leader, while still making her a believable character. I also like that facts about the time period were woven in with the story, so that even though you’re learning about Ancient Egypt, it doesn’t feel like a history lesson. My favorite part of the book though, would definitely be seeing the awesome drawings of all the fashions, (seriously, I would totally buy a book that was just of the pictures:))

Alright, now onto Louise: I thought that she was a really entertaining and likable main character because even though she gets to go on all sorts of super cool time-traveling adventures, her real life problems and clumsiness made her very relatable. She was also really sweet and funny, and I always love to read about when she first arrives in a new time because she has no idea who is who and where to go, and always just ends up in the wrong place. (I laughed when she said “Awesome” in front of Cleopatra when they were about to sneak out of the palace.)  I’m also looking forward to when Louise and Stella meet up at the next sale, (or somewhere else that isn’t 18th century France,) and to learn more about Mrs. Lambert’s time as a fashionista and how it will connect to Louise’s adventures.

So, overall I give this book four and a half stars out of five, and I really recommend it!

Lulu:)

7 Responses to “The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile-A Book Review”

  1. Jessica February 17, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

    I read “The Time Traveling Fashionista At The Palace Of Marie Antoinette” recently, and it was one of the best books ever!

    • Lulu February 18, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

      I really liked that one too! Did you read the first book, “The Time Traveling Fashionista On Board the Titanic” also?
      Thanks for commenting,
      Lulu

      • Jessica February 18, 2014 at 10:19 pm #

        No, I haven’t yet, because the second one was the only book in the series that I could get from the library. I would buy it, but I’m saving up for an AG doll right now.

        Have you ever read “The diary of Anne Frank”? I read it over Christmas, and am reading it again! I highly recommend it, it was a VERY good book!

        Jessica
        xo

  2. Lulu February 18, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

    Ooh, I really like AG too! What doll are you thinking of purchasing?
    Anyways, I haven’t read The Diary of Anne Frank yet, (I have such a big pile of books from the library already:) ), but I probably will in the future.

    Lulu:)

    • Jessica February 19, 2014 at 12:04 am #

      I honestly don’t know! Probably MYAG 41, MYAG 25, Rebecca, Ruthie, or MYAG 56. But they’re all so pretty, it’s really hard to choose!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mr. Peabody and Sherman-A Movie Review | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - March 17, 2014

    […] in the movie, (I got most of my information about Ancient Egypt and the French Revolution from the Time Traveling Fashionista books:) ), but I thought that they did a great job making the events funny and kid-friendly, but […]

  2. 6 Time Traveling Book Adventures I Really Think You Should Go On-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 15 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - April 14, 2014

    […] The Time Traveling Fashionista Series by Bianca Turetsky / Read my review of the third book here. […]

Leave a Reply

