Much Ado About Anne-A Book Review

20 Feb

Hi!

Much Ado About Anne by Heather Vogel Frederick 

Summary: Megan, Cassidy, Jess, and Emma mother’s have bad news…they’ve invited snooty Becca Chadwick and her mother to join their book club! Becca’s annoying remarks and constant teasing creates big problems for the girls…even on live TV, but that’s not the least of their troubles. Jess’s family is in danger of losing their historic home, Half Moon Farm! The girls are determined to raise enough money to save it, even if it means teaming up with Becca…

My Thoughts: The Mother Daughter Book Club is one of my sister’s favorite series, so a couple of weeks ago, I decided to read the first book, (to learn more about it, click here,) and I loved it, so I couldn’t wait to get started on Much Ado About Anne. Heather Vogel Frederick’s writing is entertaining and extremely detailed, so it really makes the reader feel like they’re right there with the characters. Speaking of the characters, they were also really relatable and distinctive, and it was easy to find something you liked or at least found funny about them, depending on the situation (coughMrs.Chadwickinthewoodscough). I also thought it was really interesting how the Mother Daughter Book Club books take place over the course of one year, and how each chapter (which switches between the four main characters’ points of view) are each a different month. This does create some plot holes though, but I think that for the most part, they’re handled smoothly.

WARNING! Spoilers Ahead! Read At Your Own Risk!

Anyways, in the beginning of the book, Megan, Cassidy, Jess, and Emma find out that their mothers have invited Becca Chadwick (Megan’s old not-so-nice friend who constantly teases the other three girls) and her snooty mother to join their book club. As I was reading this, I immediately thought “Oh no.” because Becca was pretty awful to Emma, Jess, and Cassidy before. (She even stole Emma’s notebook and read the poem she wrote about a boy she liked out loud…in public…in front of her crush!!!!!) Obviously, they weren’t very happy about this, (which resulted in a pretty hilarious prank:)) but Megan did stick up for Becca, so I was very interested to see if their friendship would start again. And so, although I’m still not a big fan of Becca, I am warming up to her, and I was glad that we got to learn more about her in this book. Eventually, she does get a bit nicer, (but don’t get me wrong, she still teases Jess, Emma, and Cassidy) and you do end up having sympathy for her. It must be hard having such an…um…overbearing mother.

In this book, the Mother-Daughter Book Club decides to read L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables Series, (read my review here!) which I read and really enjoyed, so I was eager to see how Heather Vogel Frederick would incorporate some of the ideas into Much Ado About Anne, like she did with Little Women in The Mother Daughter Book Club. There were some obvious ones, like Emma calling Becca a “Pye”, (a reference to one of Anne’s annoying classmates, Josie Pye) and accidentally giving a TV host an awful mixture to drink, (like when Anne gave her friend Diana wine by mistake at a tea party). There were also some bigger ones though, that turned into whole storylines: After the MDBC and the “Fab Three” (Becca and two of her friends,) declare a truce, they team up to save Jess’s home, Half Moon Farm, like when Anne saved Green Gables, (although these were done in very different ways;))

To finish off, I just wanted to say how well-developed and fun the characters are! Each one is very different, so as I said above, it’s easy to find at least one that you relate too, but they still all go together and make the story interesting. I can’t wait to see what happens next with these girls, (especially Megan and Emma; they’re my favorites!) as they grow up and continue the book club!

Overall, this was an entertaining book with fun characters and an interesting plot that I give four and a half stars out of five.

Lulu:)

4 Responses to “Much Ado About Anne-A Book Review”

  1. Abby W. February 21, 2014 at 8:54 am #

    This series is one of my favorite series of ALL TIME!!! The rest are also totally awesome :)

  2. adybells February 24, 2014 at 2:22 am #

    I love that series! It’s definitely one of my favorites! Glad to find somebody with the same taste in books! :D

    • Lulu February 24, 2014 at 12:22 pm #

      I’m glad to hear that you like it! I’m reading Dear Pen Pal right now, and I love it so far:)
      Lulu

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 9 Realistic Fiction Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 14 | theawesomeadventuresoflulu - March 24, 2014

    […] The Mother Daughter Book Club series by Heather Vogel Frederick / Read my review of the second book here. […]

Leave a Reply

