Mr. Peabody and Sherman-A Movie Review

17 Mar

Hi!

261-image-mr-peabody-sherman-poster07

Mr. Peabody and Sherman 

Cast:

  • Ty Burrell as Mr. Peabody
  • Max Charles as Sherman
  • Ariel Winter as Penny Peterson
  • Allison Janney as Ms. Grunion
  • Stephan Colbert as Paul Peterson
  • Leslie Mann as Patty Peterson

Summary: Mr. Peabody is the world’s smartest dog; he became an advisor to heads of state, won an Olympic gold medal, and was even awarded a Nobel Prize…but who would have guessed he would adopt a human boy? When Mr. Peabody’s adopted son, Sherman, takes his classmate Penny, on a trip into the past in his WABAC time machine, they find themselves exploring the streets of Italy, escaping an Ancient Egyptian palace, and even hiding in the Trojan Horse! But can they get back to the present without messing up the past?

My Thoughts: I saw this movie on Friday with my dad, and I have to say that I LOVED it:) Not only was the story entertaining and interesting, the characters were also very fun, and there were plenty of silly puns and jokes that I found my self laughing out loud at! The whole movie was just really cute!

So, the plot is that Mr. Peabody’s son, Sherman, gets in a fight with an annoying classmate, named Penny, on his first day of school. When Mr. Peabody invites Penny’s family over to dinner to apologize, Sherman shows her the WABAC time machine, and the two end up traveling to Ancient Egypt, where things don’t go exactly as planned. When the WABAC machine needs fixing, they have to travel across time to gather supplies, witnessing some of the most famous events in history. Too bad things aren’t going so well back in the present…

I really liked the story of the movie and thought it was pretty adorable and funny:) One of my favorite parts about it though, was seeing how each of the different time periods was interpreted for the movie. Although I don’t know that much about the time periods shown in the movie, (I got most of my information about Ancient Egypt and the French Revolution from the Time Traveling Fashionista books:) ), but I thought that they did a great job making the events funny and kid-friendly, but still giving the correct information and making it interesting. (I especially liked the beginning of the movie when Mr. Peabody and Sherman traveled to France…I don’t want to spoil anything, but let me just say that there was plenty of cake and a cantaloupe!)

I also really liked the characters in this film! Mr. Peabody was very funny, and cool, and I thought that Ty Burrell did really well creating the character. Sherman was also very funny, (I love it when he says “I don’t get it” after every one of the puns), and I thought he was just cute and sweet:) (That sequence with all of the pictures of Sherman when he was a toddler was adorable!) One of the best parts of the whole movie was Sherman and Mr. Peabody’s relationship. My personal favorite line was when Sherman told Mr. Peabody, “I love you” and he responded, “I have a deep regard for you as well, Sherman.” And finally, I thought that Penny was super annoying at first, but she ended up being one of y favorite characters in the end. Oh, it made me so happy when she and Sherman became friends:)

Overall this was a super funny movie that I definitely recommend and give four and a half stars out of five!

Lulu:)

2 Responses to “Mr. Peabody and Sherman-A Movie Review”

  1. Abby W. March 18, 2014 at 4:21 pm #

    Sounds good, I didn’t want to watch it before but now I do!

    • Lulu March 18, 2014 at 11:36 pm #

      Yay! It’s a really good movie, so I’m glad you want to see it now.
      Lulu:)

Leave a Reply

