9 Realistic Fiction Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 14

24 Mar

Hi!

Realistic FictionUnfortunately, since I was so busy with rehearsals, school, and just plain writer’s block, I wasn’t able to post my Books I Really Think You Should Read for February. To make up for it though, I have an extra-awesome post for this month all about Realistic Fiction! It isn’t one of my favorite genres, but there are a few realistic fiction series I love and would definitely recommend! :) So, without further ado, here are nine of those books that I really think you should read…

The Mother Daughter Book Club series by Heather Vogel Frederick / Read my review of the second book here.

If you read my review of the second book, Much Ado About Anne, you probably know about how much I love the Mother Daughter Book Club series! My sister recommended it to me, (and her recommendations are usually pretty great), and since she owns most of the books, I’ve been enjoying them non-stop:) I can’t wait to start Pies and Prejudice. 

Reel Life Starring Us by Lisa Greenwald / Read my review here.

Oh, another recommendation from my sister! I read this in 2012 on her kindle in only a couple of days, and loved it! The main characters, Chelsea and Dina are so fun and relatable to read about, plus the whole book has an entertaining plot and awesome cover:)

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsall / Read my review of the third book here.

Okay, before I even talk about how amazing this book series is, let’s just acknowledge how amazing the full title is. That makes you want to read it, doesn’t it? Yes, yes it does.

Anyways, I love the Penderwicks, (especially the youngest, Batty) and their endless adventures, and I am telling you that you have to go and read these right now. Well, after you finish reading my post, of course :)

6390352Scones and Sensibility by Lindsay Eland / Read my review here.

This book is pretty fluffy and cute:) The protagonist, Polly delivers sweets from her family’s bakery on her (purple!!) bike around town, and while she’s at it, she decides to try out her matchmaking skills! Oh, and by the way, Polly talks like she’s in the middle of a Jane Austin novel…what else could you want in a book?

400000000000000971906_s4The Main Street series by Ann M. Martin / Read my reviews of two of the books here and here.

The Main Street books are each not very long, but there are eleven of them, (which I obviously all own:) ), so if you get hooked (which you will be if you read the first one,) there’s no need to worry! I personally think there’s nothing better than curling up on the couch with a fun book like this and just reading it until you finish!

Models JKT REPRINTS.inddModels Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies by Erin Dionne / Read my review here.

I loved Erin Dionne’s other books, The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamelet, Moxie and the Art of Rule Breaking, and Notes From an Accidental Band Geek, but my favorite might have been Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies! (Although it may be a tie with Moxie..) The story is original, the writing is spot on, and the characters are believable and interesting. A perfect read for realistic fiction lovers!

The Sisters Club by Megan McDonald / Read my review here.

Filled with fun doodles, lovable characters, and a silly but interesting plot, the Sisters Club is one of those funny books that you say you’ll only read one chapter of, but then end up finishing in one night! I love to read about the hilarious mix-ups of the Reel sisters, Alex, Stevie, and Joey, and I invite you to do the same.

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

Ah, I love Wonder! My class was reading it as a read aloud at school, and we started it a couple of months ago, but then, my school decided to give each student and teacher in my grade a special edition copy of it…so now I can just read it whenever I want! Yay! Happy smiley faces! But, really, this is a wonder-ful book.

The Flower Power series by Lauren Myracle

Don’t you just love that sort of cartoon-y cute style they used for the cover? I personally just love the whole design of it, especially since the girls on it look almost exactly like how I pictured them in my head while I was reading this whole series.

Anyways, got a little off-topic there, but the Luv Ya Bunches series is about four girls named Katie-Rose, Yasmine, Violet, and Milla who only have their flower-power names in common, and no one would have ever expected to become best friends. But if only mean girl Modessa would stop meddling…

What are your favorite Realistic Fiction books?

Lulu:)

2 Responses to “9 Realistic Fiction Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 14”

  1. Abby W. March 28, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

    WOHOO!!!!!!!!! You included the MDBC – I love that one SO much!

  2. Lulu March 29, 2014 at 4:45 pm #

    I love it too:)

Leave a Reply

