Maleficent-A (Very Special!) Move Review

17 Jun

Hi!

Maleficent PosterThe blog has been a little quiet lately, but not to worry because today I have an extra-special review for you! I went to see Maleficent (twice, actually!) with my sister Bella (she blogs here!), and we decided it would be fun to do a review where we basically have a conversation about Maleficent (which was great :)). So without further ado, here it is…

B: I really enjoyed Maleficent, Lulu! One thing I loved was that it took an original take on a beloved fairytale.

L: I really liked how they redid it too, but it was a bit confusing that they took out parts of the original story so their version would make sense, along with a few unnecessary changes (like changing the crow’s name from Diablo to Diaval). It’s a great fractured fairytale rewrite, though.

B: I agree! For someone who has not seen Disney’s Sleeping Beauty in quite a while, I would be interested in comparing the two versions. I have to say that Angelina Jolie was fantastic casting for Maleficent.

L: Angelina Jolie was fantastic, wasn’t she? I thought she did a great job showing Maleficent as both a loving fairy and an evil sorceress.

B: Exactly! I think it could be difficult displaying two such distinct parts {I know I would have some trouble}, but she nailed it. Another fantastic actress was Elle Fanning as Aurora…

L: She was one of my favorite characters in the whole movie! Since the Sleeping Beauty character in the original 1959 film appears for less than twenty minutes the whole way through, Elle Fanning got the chance to develop more of a personality for Aurora.

B: That’s a great point. Elle found just the right amount of tenderness and sweetness to give to Aurora’s character. While I loved the two leading ladies, the men weren’t that bad either. Sam Riley, who played Diaval, made me laugh, especially following the more intense parts of the film.

L: Yeah! I especially liked the scene where he, Maleficent, and Aurora are in the Moors and have the mud fight; it made me smile :) Speaking of the Moors, weren’t the visuals (computerized and sets) stunning?

B: Oh, absolutely! I didn’t realize that a good chunk of the Moors were animated, but all creatures fit seamlessly into the rest of the surroundings. And that castle set made my backstage/behind-the-scenes heart happy :) Another behind-the-scenes aspect of the movie that I liked was the costumes. Aurora’s dresses and Maleficent’s cloaks especially impressed me!

L: I though the castle was really cool too! In a few of the scenes the filming seemed a bit odd, though – maybe just because of the fireplaces and dark color environment? I completely agree that the sets were gorgeous, and the costumes were also! I would love to wear Aurora’s dresses or have her hairstyles.

B: The hair! I had such beauty envy after watching the movie. I was so excited to see that some of my favorite hair blogs posted tutorials to get Aurora’s twisted pull-back. Now, if only I could get my hands on one of her dresses and find myself in a field of wildflowers :)

L: That would be fun :) Finally, can I just say how amazing the make-up for Angelina Jolie’s cheekbones in this movie is? It must be magical.

And that wraps up our extra special review! I really hope you enjoyed it and that you consider going to see Maleficent in the future! It’s worth it.

Lulu :)

Leave a Reply

