Red, White, and Blue Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 17

4 Jul

Hi!

How do you like the new blog design? You can see some more updates on all the pages and on the side of the home screen!

Red, White, and Blue Books

(Background from Wishing Well Creations)

Happy early Fourth of July everyone! Since I was so busy with school and other events last month, I wasn’t able to post a Books I Really Think You Should Read post, so I’m going to do two this month. Yay! Anyways, for this post’s theme, I chose ten books with fun red, white, and blue covers to help you get into the Fourth of July spirit. Enjoy!

Revolution

Revolution: Book 2 in the Sixties Trilogy by Deborah Wiles

Right now I’m in the midst of reading Deborah Wiles’ wonderful first book in her Sixties Trilogy, Countdown, which follows the life of an eleven year-old girl named Franny, who’s growing up during the time of the Cuban Missile Crisis. It’s a pretty great read, and you should totally check it out. Although I haven’t started the sequel, Revolution, yet, the plot sounds promising and it has a fantastic cover (that just happened to match this post’s theme) along with old advertisements and photos sprinkled throughout the pages. I’ll be reading it right away!

Capture the Flag

Capture the Flag by Kate Messener

What happens when the original Star Spangled Banner gets stolen and you’re a junior member of a secret society dedicated to protecting treasures and artifacts? Anna, Jose, and Henry find out when they’re all trapped together in an airport along with the person who stole the gigantic flag! I love Kate Messener’s Silver Jaguar Mysteries; they’re always so fast-paced and exciting! This one is my favorite out of the first two, but that might change once I get a chance to read the latest book, Manhunt, that came out just a few days ago!

Remarkable

Remarkable by Lizzie K. Foley

Before I ramble on about how remarkable Remarkable is, let us all just acknowledge the awesomeness of that cover. Done acknowledging? Okay! In Lizzie K. Foley’s debut novel, the whole town of Remarkable is filled with remarkable people who do remarkable things, (as the cover tells you), except for Jane who seems to not be able to do anything remarkable at all, (as the cover also tells you. See how awesome the cover is?) There’s tons of fun throughout the book including loads of quirky characters, a very secret sea monster, and lots of sugary jelly that shouldn’t be missed!

Spy School

Spy School by Stuart Gibbs

This is one of my more recent reads, and I have to say that I’m hooked! I mean, how much more could you ask for than a prestigious CIA school dedicated to training future spies, a cast of funny and interesting characters, and a likable and relatable main character who’s just as much out of his element in spy school as I would be, but does it in a hilarious and entreating way? Enough said, I’ll definitely be reading the rest of Stuart Gibbs’ books soon.

Molly Saves The Day

Molly Saves the Day by Valerie Tripp

For a bit easier red, white, and blue read this summer, I recommend the American Girl book Molly Saves the Day, along with the rest of the historical doll novels too, of course! The plot of this one is fairly simple, (Eleven year old Molly heads to summer camp in 1944, and ends up becoming a leader for Color War. She tries to help her team to victory, while still being a true friend) but there’s lots of camp fun and it screams summer to me! Don’t forget to check out the “Look Into the Past” section in the very back. It’s always my favorite part of the book!

Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters

Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters by Lesley M. M. Blume

Some of the best things about summer reads to me is that they always seem to be able to make me smile and laugh, involve traveling somewhere I’ve never gone, and have a cast of quirky and lovable characters. Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters does all those things, and even more! Along with a very smart girl who can say dictionary-length words to describe every situation and a very adorable French bulldog (named Mister Kinyatta! How cool is that?), this is a read you’ll end up finishing in just one sitting.

The Hidden Staircase

The Hidden Staircase by Carolyn Keene

Now we must take another moment to acknowledge the awesomeness of this lovely cover. Okay, we’re acknowledging…acknowledging…okay, done! So now I can start rambling (mostly about how awesome I think this cover is): The first four books in the original wonderful Nancy Drew series got all new covers recently at Penguin Book publishing, and I have to say I love them! Hopefully the updated look will attract new readers to the books, WHICH HAVE SUPER COOL COVERS, and I can say they definitely caught my eyes when I saw them at the Blue Bunny bookstore last month:) (Especially the one for the Mystery at Lilac Inn-it’s purple and one of my favorite ND mysteries! What could be better?)

Cat Among The Pigeons

Cat Among The Pigeons by Julia Golding / Read my reviews of the first four books in the series here, here, here, and here.

Being one of my ultimate favorite series of all time, I usually try to work a Cat Royal Book into one of these posts:) Seriously though, these are pretty awesome books for anyone who likes mysteries, historical fiction, or plain old great stories…(I may be a little biased, but who cares?!) The second book, (shown above) follows the adventures of Cat Royal: an English orphan who lives in the attic of a popular theatre and has a tendency to get into trouble. This time around she ends up being on the run from the police, having to disguise herself as a boy, and help save her best buddy Pedro from his old slave master. See, now you really want to read it, don’t you?

The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Perilous Journey

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart / Read my review of the first book here and the third book here.

Who wouldn’t want to join the Mysterious Benedict Society? When the brilliant Mr. Benedict sends his four young society members, Kate, Sticky, Reynie, and Constance on a scavenger hunt across the country, the kids suddenly realize that Mr. Benedict’s evil twin (evil twins are always in cool books :) ) Mr. Curtain and his workers are trailing them. Soon they’re embarking on a dangerous mission that requires their unique talents in order to be a success. This fast-paced and (very!) suspenseful book will keep you wondering what will happen next! (And the feeling might be so strong that you’re required to take a quick peek at the last chapter before you get there…I’m just speaking from experience.)

Regarding the Fountain

Regarding the Fountain by Kate Klise and M. Sarah Klise

I adore Kate and Sarah Klise’s books! The Regarding the…series is one of my very favorites because of the great drawings and silly, but entertaining plot. The whole series is written in letters, newspapers, journals. etc. giving it a unique feel that keeps the story moving along nicely. If you end up liking these, you should definitely check out their hilarious Dying to Meet You series too!

Have a great 4th of July!

Lulu

2 Responses to “Red, White, and Blue Books I Really Think You Should Read-B.I.R.T.Y.S.R Volume 17”

  1. Bella July 30, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

    Lulu, I LOVE this list! :) It’s super-duper creative, and I am instantly put in the Fourth of July mood. I can’t wait to read Revolution; it looks fantastic! Countdown is quite good, so I have high hopes for it. Kate Messner is a terrific middle grade author {which reminds me – we need to get Manhunt!}. Remarkable was really good too. Perhaps I will reread it this fall. SPY SCHOOL. It’s a favorite. I haven’t read the AG books in a long time, but you can’t go wrong with Molly. Cornelia is a funny one, and Nancy Drew is a classic. Kate Klise and M. Sarah Klise can do little wrong in my mind. The Regarding series is one of my childhood favorites! That Cat cover makes me want to read it {again!}, and finally, Trenton Lee Stewart impressed me quite a bit with his series. Amazing list!

    • Lulu July 30, 2014 at 7:11 pm #

      Aww, thanks so much for your awesome (and long :) ) comment!

Leave a Reply

