Updates + Purple Panda Points: Greenglass House

2 Jan

Hi!

It’s been awhile, hasn’t it? I apologize for keeping the blog so quiet for so long, but school, activities, and the holidays have kept me quite busy. That’s not all though. Blogging was starting to seem like a burden, and that’s no fun for me or you lovely readers. I don’t want to give up blogging though, so instead, I’ve decided to rework the posts so they’re more enjoyable for everyone. Yay!

No worries; Mimi and B.I.R.T.Y.S.R will stay, (of course!), but I’ve decided to change up the format of my book reviews. The new format is called “Purple Panda Points”, where I talk about three elements of the book (setting, plot, characters) in brief points. Hopefully this will help to keep the reviews informative, interesting, and spoiler-free! And so, without further ado, I present the first ever Purple Panda Points…

Green Glass HouseToday I’m reviewing the book, Greenglass House by Kate Milford. I received the book as a Christmas present and read lots of positive reviews online, so I went into to it with very high hopes. Luckily the story lived up to those expectations, and it’s already become a new favorite of mine. My thoughts in the image above are summarized, so you can read my full opinion in the text below. Enjoy!

Summary: It’s winter vacation, and 11-year-old Milo Pine is planning on spending his days relaxing in his family’s inn, The Greenglass House. His plans are soon interrupted when many mysterious guests arrive at the house in mere hours of each other, each bringing a mysterious story. Milo eventually finds a friend in the cook’s daughter, Meddy, and the two of them begin an investigation of the inn’s new tenants. What starts out as a mere game however, eventually turns into a suspenseful mystery when they discover the house hides more than just secrets.

Plot: I absolutely love suspenseful mysteries that take place in one spot, and Greenglass House fits that description perfectly. The writing was extremely detailed and made me feel like the entire story was really happening. Kate Milford is a great writer and I love how she weaved the history of the house into the plot; it really helped the book come to life.

Characters: The guests at the inn added the necessary suspense and wonder to make the mystery enjoyable, and the inn itself was practically its own character. Milo was a fine M.C., but I have to say that I preferred the hilarious Meddy over him. I did, however, really enjoy reading about his close relationship with his parents, since so many books usually forget about characters’ families the minute they need to go on some sort of dangerous adventure. It was quite refreshing! :)

Setting: The secrets of the Greenglass Inn kept me interested throughout the entire story and they definitely added to the suspense of the mystery. The author did a fantastic job of creating a whimsical setting that I would love to go and explore myself.

Rating: 5 Stars (Out of 5)

Recommended Reading: If you enjoy the Greenglass House, I definitely recommend reading The Mysterious Benedict Society, The Vengekeep Prophecies, Tuesdays at the Castle, and Three Times Lucky.

Have a great Friday,

Lulu :)

One Response to “Updates + Purple Panda Points: Greenglass House”

  1. papa Jim January 3, 2015 at 3:30 am #

    the new format is very nice and very clever,i like it papa Jim

Leave a Reply

