Purple Panda Points: Kiki Strike, Inside the Shadow City

4 Feb

Hi!

Happy Wednesday everyone! I went back to school this morning after a couple snow days spent being productive…which in my case means reading and having marathons of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. :) I did get a chance to write up a few reviews for the blog and create a Goodreads account, (which you can check out here) though, so I thought today would be a perfect time to post a new Purple Panda Points…

But first, a recap of my book review system for any of you readers who aren’t familiar with it! Enjoy!

My book review format is called “Purple Panda Points”, where I talk about three elements of the book (setting, plot, characters) in brief points. Hopefully this will help to keep the reviews informative, interesting, and spoiler-free!

The books are rated using the ice cream rankings (because obviously, ice cream is the food that makes the most sense)…

1 Panda PointOne Purple Panda Point: One point means that the book was just plain bad. I would never read it again. It’s the book equivalent of spinach ice cream.

Two PointsTwo Purple Panda Points: Two points means the book was okay. Fine. Nothing remarkable. The book equivalent of vanilla ice cream with no toppings in a dish.

Three PointsThree Purple Panda Points: Three points means the book was good. I enjoyed it and would read it again. The book equivalent of vanilla and chocolate swirl ice cream in a wafer cone.

Four PointsFour Purple Panda Points: Four points means the book was great. I loved it actually! The book equivalent of cookie dough ice cream with rainbow sprinkles in a sugar cone.

Five PointsFive Purple Panda Points: Five points mean that the book was one of the best ones I’ve ever read. Amazing! Awesome! Cool beans! The ice cream equivalent of chocolate cookies and cream ice cream in a sugar cone with chocolate sprinkles. Yum!

Woo, that made me hungry! And now onto the review…

Kiki Strike Today I’ll be reviewing “Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City” by Kirsten Miller. You can read my full thoughts below or a quick overview of them in the image above.

Summary: The Shadow City is a system of tunnels hidden under the bustling city of New York used by thieves and criminals to hide their loot…and secrets. For hundreds of years it has laid undisturbed, that is, until now. A group of delinquent girl scouts led by the dangerous and mysterious Kiki Strike is about to go deep under the city they’ve known all their lives and start an adventure bigger than they could ever imagine.

Plot: A mysterious underground city hiding dangerous secrets? An evil plot against the royalty of an Eastern European country? Butt-kicking girl scouts? Suspenseful and interesting writing? Looks like you have all the ingredients for my new favorite mystery!

Characters: The Irregulars are the type of people I would love to be friends with in real life! Although the story is told from Ananka’s point of view, I still felt that they were all very well developed and not at all forgettable. And let me just say that Kiki Strike is super cool. :)

Setting: I loved how New York City was incorporated into this book; the buildings may hold clues to the mystery, the park may have a secret opening to a creepy (and AWESOME) underground city, even the main characters’ homes were cool! If only I had my own personal library like Ananka or basement full of clothes like Betty…

Favorite Character: This is definitely a three-way tie between Betty, Iris, and Kiki. Decisions, decisions…

Favorite Line: “When I grow up, I’d like to be dangerous.” – Kiki Strike (when asked what she wants to be when she grows up.)

Recommended Reading: If you enjoyed the first book in the Kiki Strike series, you’ll love The Red Blazer Girls, Spy School, Capture the Flag, and The Mystery of the Third Lucretia.

Overall Rating: Five Purple Panda Points

Five Points

Have you read any good mysteries lately?

Signature

2 Responses to “Purple Panda Points: Kiki Strike, Inside the Shadow City”

  1. Paulina Martin February 4, 2015 at 3:52 pm #

    Absolutely love your rating system with ice cream related descriptions :). It always makes me smile and I totally get how much you liked/disliked a book. Since this book is equivalent to “chocolate cookies and cream ice cream in a sugar cone with chocolate sprinkles” I may just have to look into reading it!

    Xo Paulina http://www.paulinamartin.com

    • Lulu February 8, 2015 at 2:29 pm #

      Thanks! :)

      Lulu

      P.S. I loved your post on the Her Conference – it looked liked lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

