M&M Cookies – A Recipe

12 Feb

M&M CookiesHappy Thursday! I just received some wonderful news: I get to be part of the costume crew for my school’s one act play! And so, although I don’t post recipes often, (my sister is the main baker in my house – I prefer the role of taste-tester) today seemed like the perfect time to feature some delicious M&M cookies I made for Valentine’s Day. Not only are they yummy, they’re also very easy to make, so let’s get baking!

I N G R E D I E N T S:

  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups and 2 tablespoons of all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 1/3 cups of M&M’s (with a few left over for topping)

T O    M A K E:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  • Mix together brown sugar, sugar, shortening, eggs, and vanilla extract in an electric mixer.
  • Add in the all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking soda, and salt. The batter will be very thick!
  • Pour in the M&Ms. I found it easier to mix them in with a spatula than with the mixer.
  • Grease two baking sheets.
  • Shape the dough into balls and place them on the baking sheet. (Mine were 4×4) Flatten them out with your hand, and lightly press a few M&Ms into the surface.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes.
  • Let cool.

Adapted from Ciao Bella!

Happy baking!

Lulu

Leave a Reply

