Purple Panda Points: Kiki Strike, The Darkness Dwellers

15 Feb

Hi!

Happy Sunday! I hope you all had a lovely Valentine’s Day; mine was filled with snow, sewing, Sleepless in Seattle, and the Story Thieves by James Riley. I am off school this week for vacation and have plenty of fun new features planned, but for now here’s a new Purple Panda Points for you wonderful readers…

Here’s a quick recap of my book review system for any of you who aren’t yet familiar with it:

My book review format is called “Purple Panda Points”, where I talk about three elements of the book (setting, plot, characters) in brief points. Hopefully this will help to keep the reviews informative, interesting, and spoiler-free!

The books are rated using the ice cream rankings (because, obviously)…

1 Panda PointOne Purple Panda Point: One point means that the book was just plain bad. I would never read it again. It’s the book equivalent of spinach ice cream.

Two PointsTwo Purple Panda Points: Two points means the book was okay. Fine. Nothing remarkable. The book equivalent of vanilla ice cream with no toppings in a dish.

Three PointsThree Purple Panda Points: Three points means the book was good. I enjoyed it and would read it again. The book equivalent of vanilla and chocolate swirl ice cream in a wafer cone.

Four PointsFour Purple Panda Points: Four points means the book was great. I loved it actually! The book equivalent of cookie dough ice cream with rainbow sprinkles in a sugar cone.

Five PointsFive Purple Panda Points: Five points mean that the book was one of the best ones I’ve ever read. Amazing! Awesome! Cool beans! The ice cream equivalent of chocolate cookies and cream ice cream in a sugar cone with chocolate sprinkles. Yum!

Woo, that made me hungry! And now onto the review…

The Darkness DwellersToday I’ll be reviewing “Kiki Strike: The Darkness Dwellers” by Kirsten Miller. You can read my full thoughts below or a quick overview of them in the image above.

Summary: The Irregulars, a group of kick-butt delinquent girl scouts led by the dangerous Kiki Strike, are off to the City of Lights! While attempting to reclaim her throne, Kiki is captured by her vengeful cousin and must rely on the wits of her friends in New York and Paris to help plan her escape. With thoughts of baldness, manners, underground cities, and love on their minds, the Irregulars are about to embark on their biggest adventure yet.

Plot: A finishing school. A novice stalker. A group of Parisian explorers. A hair-growing formula. An evil twin. A revolution against manners. A royal kidnapping. A World War II mystery. All of these plot lines seemed unconnected as I was reading, but by the time I had closed the back cover they were all flawlessly weaved together!

Characters: The Irregulars are just plain awesome, and there is no way to possibly change that fact. However, I did find Ananka’s crush pretty annoying at times. :( This book is really an ode to Betty Bent though, and seeing her kick butt was pretty cool. And Kiki Strike having a crush? Greatness.

Setting: Betty and Kiki may have spent their time underground Paris, but New York and the Shadow City are not at all forgotten in this installment! Although NYC didn’t have as big of a role this time around, I did enjoy reading about the girls’ city adventures, as well as the parallels between the Shadow City and the catacombs.

Favorite Character: Betty. Always Betty. 

Favorite Line: “So I’ll keep my distance from him and start kidnapping delivery boys like Iris instead.” -Ananka Fishbein (on getting over her crush)

Cover Conversations: It isn’t a bad cover, but I miss the old ones.

Recommended Reading: If you enjoyed the third book in the Kiki Strike series, you’ll love The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Overall Rating: Five Purple Panda Points

Five Points

Have an awesome night! I’m getting ready for some serious Downton Abbey watching.

Signature

One Response to “Purple Panda Points: Kiki Strike, The Darkness Dwellers”

  1. Meghna August 14, 2015 at 10:57 am #

    SOMEONE ELSE HAS READ KIKI STRIKE TOO I’M DYING

    I loovelovelovelove Kiki Strike!! The books weren’t in my school library so I wrote a detailed letter to my librarian and now she has like 10 copies of them and everyone in my school is obsessed with them. Mission accomplished :)

    Besides that, I really like your blog! I’ve just stumbled upon it but can honestly say that everything is so funny and easy to read – just followed, and looking forward to more posts!

    p.s if you liked Kiki Strike, you should consider trying the Ruby Redford series :)

    -Meghna

Leave a Reply

